Sidekick LX 2009 Community App Reviews

Even though a lot of people have purchased their Sidekick LX 2009’s, there are still quite a few people waiting to see if it is worth upgrading. One of the main thing that the device boasts is having powerful “Social-Networking” applications, such as Myspace, Facebook, and Twitter. We’ve gone ahead and went into the depths of these three, free applications, to bring you the pros and cons of them. We’ll give you all that you need to know, including functionality, issues we’ve encountered, and much more. Remember, we love the applications, but we are providing the most neutral review possible. Let’s dive into it.

Myspace

The Myspace application is basically a port of their version from the older OS. We see much of the same functionality, and the 3G service just makes it run a bit smoother and faster for us. Since a lot of this application is the same as the old version, we won’t be commenting much on it, just giving features.

You have the ability to view all aspects of your profile, including photos, blogs, comments, and your main profile. The profile editor is very nice, as you can place html code in the sections you wish; you may not be able to view these changes in the application, but you can still edit it all. Definitely a very desktop-like editor for your profile. Not only can you upload your photos straight from the album, but you can also upload videos to your profile. In addition, you can set alerts to just about anything that you would need to be notified about in the application. Most of these won’t need to be set, but still nice to have.

Some of the things we wish that existed are the ability to view profile videos and listen to profile music. We understand that this would require a complete update on Myspace’s side, but using RTSP streams, they could have tried to make this possible. Otherwise, the application is pretty complete. There is yet to be a fully powerful mobile Myspace application on any device, but this application is pretty great for an avid user. Overall, it’s pretty stable, and the application auto-reconnects if there is ever an abrupt log out.

Facebook

The Facebook application is a very nice and intuitive app that gives us the best of Facebook. The application pretty much takes the standard mobile edition of Facebook, and turns it into an updating app.

The splash screen is very nice, showing you not only that you have an alert, but actually gives you a newsfeed preview of the latest friend status and Facebook activity. We also like that you can refresh the home, which will give you the latest activity. The image icons and previews come up pretty fast, even just on EDGE.

Viewing a friends profile, you can easily comment, poke, or even message them. Composing a message is much like the email application, but it’s still within the app. You can also comment on statuses, and upload photos directly from your photo album. You can update your status with no problem, and view all messages, friend statuses, and search Facebook; all of these options reside in their own tab.

The ability to “Like” a status does not exist in the application, which is somewhat of a downer, considering we sometimes don’t always like to comment on a status. It also would have been nice to see the ability to upload videos to your profile, or watch videos from other friends profiles. We would have like to have seen a version of Facebook chat as well; we’ve seen it on other devices, and it would have been a great addition to the app if you could use this feature.

Aside from a few flaws, it a pretty great application, and saves you from having to keep using the browser. An app built in keeps everything Facebook related very organized; Facebook users will spend a lot of time in this app.

Twitter

Finally, you can have a Twitter application on your Sidekick, that interacts with the site just the way you want it to; the mobile website doesn’t always have the ability to perform certain tasks, but this application definitely performs.

The splash screen gives you a preview of one or two tweets, and tells you when it was posted. Inside of the app, you can see A LOT of tweets that have been posted by people that you follow. In addition, you can easily update your status, with a text field that has a ticker counting down your 140 characters. Scrolling over a person’s tweet, you can send then an “@ reply”, send them a direct message, see their timeline, and view their profile. You can also choose to stop following that person, or mark the tweet as a favorite. You can delete a tweet you made, follow new people, and update your location.

The problem with this app is that you are forced to choose between intervals of automatic updating, which tend to be either too fast and burn battery, or too slow and not update enough. We wish there was a manual update action, that could force an update. Also, we wanted to see the tweets to be updated after you send a tweet, showing your message and updating the timeline. Another feature that we find missing is Twitpic, or photo posting functionality in general. This is one of the very popular trends when adding something to view in a tweet. Sure, you can go ahead and post it to Photobucket and drag the link in, but direct Twitpic functionality would be ideal. Also, updating your location is more of a manual process; it would have been nice to see it fetch your current location upon request.

 
Hopefully these reviews give you a great idea of what to expect with these social applications. Here are some additional screenshots of all of the apps in action.

128 Responses to “Sidekick LX 2009 Community App Reviews”

  1. Domo(CHAOS) the King Says:

    IS THERE ANYONE WHO IS WILLING TO TRADE A CARBON LX 2009 FOR A BLACK G1 MY EMAIL IS domochaos@gmail.com

  2. Bebe Says:

    .. on May 27, 2009 at 7:06 am said:

    Bebe on May 26, 2009 at 5:42 pm said:

    .. on May 26, 2009 at 4:57 pm said:

    Bebe on May 26, 2009 at 4:54 pm said:

    .. on May 26, 2009 at 4:50 pm said:

    when is the next kick coming out?

    LOL,this one just came out and there’s no talk of another kick coming out..Rumors but that’s it just rumors but no real facts about it..

    there is another one coming out tho right?this site had an article saying that a couple kicks were going to come out this year

    Here and there it’s been said but nothing really has been talked about but saying yeah later this year maybe a touch screen yadda yadda yadda..So as of now we don’t know till later..

    where did you get that info?

    I go to many mobile tech sites online people just doing gossip and hoping for a touch screen-why?It uses too much energy of the battery in it’s device.They think they’ll be another at the end of the year but no proof of that for now.

    Plus MS owns Danger but doesn’t own the sidekick and we already have issues with this one just this and that(meaning more data and updates on the way).MS could add Windows Mobile OTA to the kick if they decide to but again all talk.With WM7 coming out soon will they add that to sidekick?Again that’s to the brainiac in charge of MS,which it’s not Bill Gates.

    Basically this an issue between TMO and MS,just like TMOE and Apple to decide where do they go from here.

  3. Bebe Says:

    Crazyforkicks on May 26, 2009 at 6:46 pm said:

    .. on May 26, 2009 at 4:57 pm said:

    Bebe on May 26, 2009 at 4:54 pm said:

    .. on May 26, 2009 at 4:50 pm said:

    when is the next kick coming out?

    LOL,this one just came out and there’s no talk of another kick coming out..Rumors but that’s it just rumors but no real facts about it..

    there is another one coming out tho right?this site had an article saying that a couple kicks were going to come out this year

    A couple of kicks have already come out. The carbon and orchid. that’s 2. A couple means 2

    LOL..Crazy you’re such a smart assie and I like it and that’s why you have the name Crazy..OMYG,if we were like neighnors our love ones would go insaneee,lol..

  4. crazyforkicks Says:

    New apps in the catalog.

    I still can’t believe tmo wants $3 bucks a month for weather. I can just set up email weather alerts for free with the many websites that exist.

    Who the funk is gonna pay $36 a year plus tax for weather? I’ll pay 1.99 flat price for the app, so the developer can’t get his paper. But that’s it. Still no outlook support. Intellisync has been out since 2004 and it is not outlook exchange..

  5. Bebe Says:

    crazyforkicks on May 28, 2009 at 7:37 am said:

    New apps in the catalog.

    I still can’t believe tmo wants $3 bucks a month for weather. I can just set up email weather alerts for free with the many websites that exist.

    Who the funk is gonna pay $36 a year plus tax for weather? I’ll pay 1.99 flat price for the app, so the developer can’t get his paper. But that’s it. Still no outlook support. Intellisync has been out since 2004 and it is not outlook exchange..

    I saw that and man I was like WOOOOWW..so not what I’m looking for waiting for them to add i711 that’s what I want and need.It’s for the use of AIM like on AIM desktop of where I can use the Real Time IM.I’m not buying apps I don’t need,I want free apps that I do need.Am I making sense?

    They have the Intellisync on My-Tmobile for 9.99 I have no use for it.

    Do anyone know how I can get headphones for outter ear aids?Or to get them free?

    I talked to TMO today and they said anyone having problems with the kick,call them when the automated service ask what would you like,ask for sidekick service department.

    No news on any plans for sidekicks but the 2 we have,MSDanger nada there like Crazy says of what is going on.

  6. gizmo Says:

    I don’t like the browser. I have searched far and wide for other sites that play video and songs but it won’t do anything else but youtube. Im getting sick of sidekicks looking for ways to shaft me. Why do they always come up short of the other smart phones but charge the same price? The g1 is actually cheaper and it will let me watch vids on other sites. I tried it at the tmobile store. This is upsetting me. I think im going to switch to the g1. I can hack a g1 to boot a full blown distro of linux. It will prob be slow as a snail but the point is that I can do that kind of thing with it. Perhaps someone will issue a mobile version of linux or something. Don’t flame me. I been rocking out with these kicks for a while now. I know what’s up but I was really expecting more out of my kick. They said 3g and custom ring tones. So I went and got it. Now that I have it it turns out that I have to record me ting tones?? Am I the only one that thinks that’s stupid?? And the 3g will only play youtube vids?? What’s up with that?? I still can’t watch vids from other mobile sites. What if I want to watch some porn?? What if I just want to hear a song on myxer?? This is soft like a 80yr old mans member in a coma.

  7. Domo(CHAOS) the King Says:

    gizmo on May 28, 2009 at 9:42 am said:

    I don’t like the browser. I have searched far and wide for other sites that play video and songs but it won’t do anything else but youtube. Im getting sick of sidekicks looking for ways to shaft me. Why do they always come up short of the other smart phones but charge the same price? The g1 is actually cheaper and it will let me watch vids on other sites. I tried it at the tmobile store. This is upsetting me. I think im going to switch to the g1. I can hack a g1 to boot a full blown distro of linux. It will prob be slow as a snail but the point is that I can do that kind of thing with it. Perhaps someone will issue a mobile version of linux or something. Don’t flame me. I been rocking out with these kicks for a while now. I know what’s up but I was really expecting more out of my kick. They said 3g and custom ring tones. So I went and got it. Now that I have it it turns out that I have to record me ting tones?? Am I the only one that thinks that’s stupid?? And the 3g will only play youtube vids?? What’s up with that?? I still can’t watch vids from other mobile sites. What if I want to watch some porn?? What if I just want to hear a song on myxer?? This is soft like a 80yr old mans member in a coma.

    Dude trade ur lx for my black g1 email me at domochaos@gmail.com

  8. Bebe Says:

    gizmo on May 28, 2009 at 9:42 am said:

    I don’t like the browser. I have searched far and wide for other sites that play video and songs but it won’t do anything else but youtube. Im getting sick of sidekicks looking for ways to shaft me. Why do they always come up short of the other smart phones but charge the same price? The g1 is actually cheaper and it will let me watch vids on other sites. I tried it at the tmobile store. This is upsetting me. I think im going to switch to the g1. I can hack a g1 to boot a full blown distro of linux. It will prob be slow as a snail but the point is that I can do that kind of thing with it. Perhaps someone will issue a mobile version of linux or something. Don’t flame me. I been rocking out with these kicks for a while now. I know what’s up but I was really expecting more out of my kick. They said 3g and custom ring tones. So I went and got it. Now that I have it it turns out that I have to record me ting tones?? Am I the only one that thinks that’s stupid?? And the 3g will only play youtube vids?? What’s up with that?? I still can’t watch vids from other mobile sites. What if I want to watch some porn?? What if I just want to hear a song on myxer?? This is soft like a 80yr old mans member in a coma.

    Ok,well did you not read anything about what the sidekick will and won’t have through many of these postings on blogs?The kick doesn’t have flash to see other video sites but only for You Tube.We can’t use Opera Mini,Windows Mobile or anything else but only use what it will let us use.
    You can listen to Winamp/Shoutcast radio and that’s it also.Until they see and realized that the kick needs more and it’s still early hasn’t been a month yet of it,this is all we get for now.

    The kick didn’t shaft you you shafted yourself by not getting more information about what it will and will not do,or what it has and don’t have.

    G1 and SKLX are running off the same cpu Qualcomm which takes over IPhone.MSDanger owns the OS program not TMO.

    Ringers,you can make your own with free sites or an audio software to put on your desktop and send it to your tmail.com or your number then tmomail.net.Problem is Danger forgot to put in a program to delete those ringers you no longer want.

    If you’re someone who’s used the kicks for years then you should of done you’re reseacrh on it.I’m a first time kick owner who did her research on it and more which everyone should do when it comes to using and buying products.

    Am I flaming you?Yea I guess so because you’re ticked off cos you can’t watch porn sites when you can only see You Tube videos and no others.

    You can buy a mixer in the catalog and what ever else you need from it.

    80 yr old in a coma?It’s more like an 80 yr old byytching cos they can’t get what they want.

    Oh man am I in full force Bytch mode and I think Crazy’s next,lol..

  9. Wicked1 Says:

    Does anyone know if the social networking suites will eventually be released for the old Lxs, for free? I should call T mobile and ask.

    1 friend of mine that has updated took it back and is now back with the old LX. She said it would cut off for hours at a time. Now she says she is probably gonna get an iphone. My other friend has updated and has had no problems, that I know of. So I don’t know. I don’t like the way the new screen sits on top of the phone and doesn’t swivel into it when closed, it looks like an old SK. I don’t really have the money right now, and I don’t really want to upgrade to this one, all the ringtones, games, and apps still aren’t free and when I upgrade it’s gonna be to a phone that is open source, probably an Adroid phone that is supposed to be coming out in October.

  10. matthew Says:

    3 bucks for weather? Ok now that is just sad, truly sad. I’m going to boycott any subscription services from the sidekick app store and that includes the newsroom / rss feed thing, I’m sorry tmobile but you guys are just starting to sound desperate. I mean come on, I’ve never heard or seen anything about weather costing money. I remember when newsroom was free for awhile then they start charging, makes no sense.

  11. Dominica Says:

    Anybody know how I can get my ringtones? I emailed em to myself and they keep sayin they are too big even though they are much less than the 6MB allowed for emails. Then I call T-Mobile and they tell me that the network doesn’t allow you to email songs or bluetooth ringtones. You have to purchase them. So I’m like then what’s the point of opening that feature up finally. Not to mention I already was successful with 2 of them. I could’ve saved $149 and kept my old LX if that was the case. I kinda think he just didn’t know what he was talking bout so I am going to call back later but if anyone else knows how to get around that BS feel free to lt me know. Ive tried saving them in wav an mp3 and get the same mesage. The catalog doesn’t have Drake and that’s who I want to hear.

  12. crazy4kicks Says:

    Dominica on May 30, 2009 at 9:04 am said:

    Anybody know how I can get my ringtones? I emailed em to myself and they keep sayin they are too big even though they are much less than the 6MB allowed for emails. Then I call T-Mobile and they tell me that the network doesn’t allow you to email songs or bluetooth ringtones. You have to purchase them. So I’m like then what’s the point of opening that feature up finally. Not to mention I already was successful with 2 of them. I could’ve saved $149 and kept my old LX if that was the case. I kinda think he just didn’t know what he was talking bout so I am going to call back later but if anyone else knows how to get around that BS feel free to lt me know. Ive tried saving them in wav an mp3 and get the same mesage. The catalog doesn’t have Drake and that’s who I want to hear.

    Dominicana,

    I’m posting a video tomorrow with exact instructions. In the mean time email me at victimsofgravity@tmail.com

    I’ll send you 20 or so ringtones thru email. You can preview them and pick the ones u want to save.

    If anyone else want some tones hit me up. I have a good selection from rap to rock. I also have email sounds.

    Don’t forget to check out my Kick Tips videos on youtube.com just search crazyforsidekicks.

    Also be on the lookout for a site dedicated to sidekick ringtones. Truly tremendous!

    Peace.

  13. Dominica Says:

    I guess you people think these developers spend there time creating apps for free. Let’s see one of you take the time to learn java, create an app and then expect not to get paid for it. I guess you sit on your jobs all day (for those of you who have them) and expect not to get paid for your “hard” work right? Quit the complaining most other phones charge for weather apps: iPhone, G1, SK, BB etc unless you go on the internet and get it yourself. iPhone has weather but it’s not like you get an update notification for it like Weather Underground nor is it always displayed somewhere rather than having to go into the app and wait or it to refresh everytime. And the Newsroom was never free except for maybe one month when they pick an app and run a promotion for it. Which clearly states that before downloading.

  14. crazy4kicks Says:

    As a member of the development community I I have no problem paying for the weather app because it is a well made app. And the developer needs to be compensated for his or her creation.
    BUT, I refuse to pay a monthly fee to tmobile for the app to access the internet. I already pay for unlimited internet.
    What’s next are they gonna charge you everytime u do a google search?
    Or how about a monthly charge for aim? Come on dominicana.

  15. Bebe Says:

    Dominica on May 30, 2009 at 9:04 am said:

    Anybody know how I can get my ringtones? I emailed em to myself and they keep sayin they are too big even though they are much less than the 6MB allowed for emails. Then I call T-Mobile and they tell me that the network doesn’t allow you to email songs or bluetooth ringtones. You have to purchase them. So I’m like then what’s the point of opening that feature up finally. Not to mention I already was successful with 2 of them. I could’ve saved $149 and kept my old LX if that was the case. I kinda think he just didn’t know what he was talking bout so I am going to call back later but if anyone else knows how to get around that BS feel free to lt me know. Ive tried saving them in wav an mp3 and get the same mesage. The catalog doesn’t have Drake and that’s who I want to hear.

    Who trains them and which ones actually listens?I’ve been through so many of them some knows and some really don’t know.

    Try not going over 20 seconds with the songs then they’ll fit onto your import file at least they should.
    Hey Crazy,can we use them on our voicemail?Could we figure that out?My brother(TMO) brought one of “What’s New Pussycat?”Love it,makes me laugh,lol..

    I’m not or won’t pay for any apps(can’t afford too)simply because we have an alarm on the phone,weather can look online,games well can’t play them because of no internet explorer,we can only use theirs so they’re making money in the bank,lol..Would like to see more of an opening of use of browsers and other sites and there’s nothing wrong with that.For right now this is what we get for now till they fix the bugs and gives us more software use.

    I wanna learn java and other things it will keep me busy just longer because of my learning disabilty and adhd.I don’t care if I got paid or not cause I’ll enjoy doing it.

    Did anybody get their bill yet?LOL..lawdy that rebate doesn’t matter they gave me 70.00 off for a rebate and something else,then the thing O received went on the bill too.I’m like I don’t get that,lol..Sky rocket delight high bill but I have no regrets with my choice.

  16. matthew Says:

    @crazy4kicks.

    I completely agree with you, I wouldn’t mind paying for the app but a monthly payment is just absolutely ridiculous. I remember the newsroom app was free for awhile but then started charging. If they were able to let people not pay a monthly payment then why all the sudden are you charging? Is it because the sidekick is now owned by micro$oft? Figures because you have to pay online fee for xbox 360 to keep it online and the sony ps3 you don’t have to pay a penny, greedy ********.

  17. Dominica Says:

    crazy4kicks on May 30, 2009 at 10:08 am said:

    As a member of the development community I I have no problem paying for the weather app because it is a well made app. And the developer needs to be compensated for his or her creation.
    BUT, I refuse to pay a monthly fee to tmobile for the app to access the internet. I already pay for unlimited internet.
    What’s next are they gonna charge you everytime u do a google search?
    Or how about a monthly charge for aim? Come on dominicana.

    And you pay a fairly cheap price compared to others. I pay for one phone on ATT what I pay T-mobile for lines and I don’t even have unlimited with ATT. Verizon charges $30 for theirs but that doesnt include text and if you want to use it as a modem its and extra 30. Sprint/Nextel is way up there for theirs and no one really cares about Helio/Virgin Mobile and MetroPCS. I’ve heard suncom androgers charge out the *** for their hiptop plans. They already charge you for AIM and Google is just in the web browser which they charge you for as well when you pay that unlimited plan that includes you’re AIM and you’re eb browsing, Yahoo, etc etc.

    No the newsroom app was only free for 1 month. Every now and then they do a promotion in the catalog where an app or a game subscription is free for a month then once that month is up you have to pay. One time it was EGO, another time it was sudoku daily, another time it was something else. It’s never gone months being free though. AIM is definitely something I would pay for even it was separate because AIM on other phone suck. The lag is ridiculous. Although it does do pretty well on the iPhone except you can’t run it in the background which is a turn off.

    I’m not totally happily with my T-Mobile service but I’m not completely disgusted and don’t mind paying whatever if I want the weater displayed although I really don’t care cause if I really wanted to the know the weather I’ll check the weather channel or open my door and stand outside butt naked for a few minutes to see how the temp changes. Only subscription app i have is sudoku and my auctioneer(once they get it back on the SK).

    Seriously though does anyone know how I can work around that ringtone thing?

  18. dirtygore Says:

    Bebe on May 25, 2009 at 6:47 am said:

    pLaTaNo p0w3r on May 25, 2009 at 2:19 am said:

    I dislike the G1 lol, used it many times, it doesn’t impress me, I love my sidekick =), sorry people,im just 20years old lol

    Oye Papito,that’s right and age ain’t nothing but a number,lol..

    Hey Matthew,I did alot of searching online on regular pc and then online on the kick.What I found is like an article written that says basically MS should play it smart with Danger OS,because it’s one of the best out there and shouldn’t be toyed with at all.The kick first by using AIM,best in the Qwerty board,best for the hearing impaired.They believe some how MS will try to put Windows Mobile and Zune onto it,I say Windows Mobile more likely even with 7 coming out soon.Question is if they do that will they raise the pricing of the Data plans,I hope not.

    The other thing is since MS and Yahoo are working on deal of MS buying Yahoo.As maybe most of us know there’s the new Yahoo Mobile m.mobile.yahoo.com but it’s not ready for the kick hopefully soon.On the kick though when you put m.mobile.yahoo.com it will say the same thing but it leads to a temporary use of having news,sports,etc..you can either sign in or not.So for right until more updates come out that’s good for now and try igoogle,I’ve bookmarked both,Windows Live,lol I couldn’t sign in..

    I’m having fun with the music media but I need updated headphones with mic,lol..I also found secret codes that I bet most of you know about already but I get amused with stuff like this,actually mostly anything,lol..Plus I’m transfering photos and numbers that most didn’t cross over thank goodies for my older cells ans sim cards..

    I wish you all a good and safe day summer is here so get your culitos in gear,lol..

    Bebe on May 25, 2009 at 6:47 am said:

    pLaTaNo p0w3r on May 25, 2009 at 2:19 am said:

    I dislike the G1 lol, used it many times, it doesn’t impress me, I love my sidekick =), sorry people,im just 20years old lol

    Oye Papito,that’s right and age ain’t nothing but a number,lol..

    Hey Matthew,I did alot of searching online on regular pc and then online on the kick.What I found is like an article written that says basically MS should play it smart with Danger OS,because it’s one of the best out there and shouldn’t be toyed with at all.The kick first by using AIM,best in the Qwerty board,best for the hearing impaired.They believe some how MS will try to put Windows Mobile and Zune onto it,I say Windows Mobile more likely even with 7 coming out soon.Question is if they do that will they raise the pricing of the Data plans,I hope not.

    The other thing is since MS and Yahoo are working on deal of MS buying Yahoo.As maybe most of us know there’s the new Yahoo Mobile m.mobile.yahoo.com but it’s not ready for the kick hopefully soon.On the kick though when you put m.mobile.yahoo.com it will say the same thing but it leads to a temporary use of having news,sports,etc..you can either sign in or not.So for right until more updates come out that’s good for now and try igoogle,I’ve bookmarked both,Windows Live,lol I couldn’t sign in..

    I’m having fun with the music media but I need updated headphones with mic,lol..I also found secret codes that I bet most of you know about already but I get amused with stuff like this,actually mostly anything,lol..Plus I’m transfering photos and numbers that most didn’t cross over thank goodies for my older cells ans sim cards..

    I wish you all a good and safe day summer is here so get your culitos in gear,lol..

    Zune was a phone that ms had but failed. There thinking about bringing it back out again. So they cant put zune in the sidekick.

  19. Bebe Says:

    Well so much for the zune part,lol..

    Dominica,nopes we still don’t how too,theyre saying a way it can be gone when it fulls up..Lets hope for future OTAs coming out soon..

  20. Bebe Says:

    Well darn I didnt see the other postimg cos email is showing it by which was first,so oops my bad,lol..

  21. Crazyforkicks Says:

    My free ringtone instructional video is processing as I type.

    If you want to know how to make and use free ringtones on ur lx2009 go to YouTube and search my channel “crazyforsidekicks” . It will be in processing for a while.

    Peace
    And dominicana, I would love to be your neighbor When ur checking the weather! Lmfao!

  22. gizmo Says:

    Bebe on May 28, 2009 at 10:25 am said:

    gizmo on May 28, 2009 at 9:42 am said:

    I don’t like the browser. I have searched far and wide for other sites that play video and songs but it won’t do anything else but youtube. Im getting sick of sidekicks looking for ways to shaft me. Why do they always come up short of the other smart phones but charge the same price? The g1 is actually cheaper and it will let me watch vids on other sites. I tried it at the tmobile store. This is upsetting me. I think im going to switch to the g1. I can hack a g1 to boot a full blown distro of linux. It will prob be slow as a snail but the point is that I can do that kind of thing with it. Perhaps someone will issue a mobile version of linux or something. Don’t flame me. I been rocking out with these kicks for a while now. I know what’s up but I was really expecting more out of my kick. They said 3g and custom ring tones. So I went and got it. Now that I have it it turns out that I have to record me ting tones?? Am I the only one that thinks that’s stupid?? And the 3g will only play youtube vids?? What’s up with that?? I still can’t watch vids from other mobile sites. What if I want to watch some porn?? What if I just want to hear a song on myxer?? This is soft like a 80yr old mans member in a coma.

    Ok,well did you not read anything about what the sidekick will and won’t have through many of these postings on blogs?The kick doesn’t have flash to see other video sites but only for You Tube.We can’t use Opera Mini,Windows Mobile or anything else but only use what it will let us use.
    You can listen to Winamp/Shoutcast radio and that’s it also.Until they see and realized that the kick needs more and it’s still early hasn’t been a month yet of it,this is all we get for now.

    The kick didn’t shaft you you shafted yourself by not getting more information about what it will and will not do,or what it has and don’t have.

    G1 and SKLX are running off the same cpu Qualcomm which takes over IPhone.MSDanger owns the OS program not TMO.

    Ringers,you can make your own with free sites or an audio software to put on your desktop and send it to your tmail.com or your number then tmomail.net.Problem is Danger forgot to put in a program to delete those ringers you no longer want.

    If you’re someone who’s used the kicks for years then you should of done you’re reseacrh on it.I’m a first time kick owner who did her research on it and more which everyone should do when it comes to using and buying products.

    Am I flaming you?Yea I guess so because you’re ticked off cos you can’t watch porn sites when you can only see You Tube videos and no others.

    You can buy a mixer in the catalog and what ever else you need from it.

    80 yr old in a coma?It’s more like an 80 yr old byytching cos they can’t get what they want.

    Oh man am I in full force Bytch mode and I think Crazy’s next,lol..

    whats your problem?? you on your rag or something? pms getting to you?? i asked not to be flamed. and here you go with the flames. not cool. totally not cool. you know something i dont about the ring tones then tell me how to do it. you can keep the nagging to yourself.

  23. crazyforwhat? Says:

    learn how to make free ringtones for your sidekick LX 2009
    go to
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=edj6YnMR_b4

  24. Bebe Says:

    gizmo on June 2, 2009 at 2:09 pm said:

    Bebe on May 28, 2009 at 10:25 am said:

    gizmo on May 28, 2009 at 9:42 am said:

    I don’t like the browser. I have searched far and wide for other sites that play video and songs but it won’t do anything else but youtube. Im getting sick of sidekicks looking for ways to shaft me. Why do they always come up short of the other smart phones but charge the same price? The g1 is actually cheaper and it will let me watch vids on other sites. I tried it at the tmobile store. This is upsetting me. I think im going to switch to the g1. I can hack a g1 to boot a full blown distro of linux. It will prob be slow as a snail but the point is that I can do that kind of thing with it. Perhaps someone will issue a mobile version of linux or something. Don’t flame me. I been rocking out with these kicks for a while now. I know what’s up but I was really expecting more out of my kick. They said 3g and custom ring tones. So I went and got it. Now that I have it it turns out that I have to record me ting tones?? Am I the only one that thinks that’s stupid?? And the 3g will only play youtube vids?? What’s up with that?? I still can’t watch vids from other mobile sites. What if I want to watch some porn?? What if I just want to hear a song on myxer?? This is soft like a 80yr old mans member in a coma.

    Ok,well did you not read anything about what the sidekick will and won’t have through many of these postings on blogs?The kick doesn’t have flash to see other video sites but only for You Tube.We can’t use Opera Mini,Windows Mobile or anything else but only use what it will let us use.
    You can listen to Winamp/Shoutcast radio and that’s it also.Until they see and realized that the kick needs more and it’s still early hasn’t been a month yet of it,this is all we get for now.

    The kick didn’t shaft you you shafted yourself by not getting more information about what it will and will not do,or what it has and don’t have.

    G1 and SKLX are running off the same cpu Qualcomm which takes over IPhone.MSDanger owns the OS program not TMO.

    Ringers,you can make your own with free sites or an audio software to put on your desktop and send it to your tmail.com or your number then tmomail.net.Problem is Danger forgot to put in a program to delete those ringers you no longer want.

    If you’re someone who’s used the kicks for years then you should of done you’re reseacrh on it.I’m a first time kick owner who did her research on it and more which everyone should do when it comes to using and buying products.

    Am I flaming you?Yea I guess so because you’re ticked off cos you can’t watch porn sites when you can only see You Tube videos and no others.

    You can buy a mixer in the catalog and what ever else you need from it.

    80 yr old in a coma?It’s more like an 80 yr old byytching cos they can’t get what they want.

    Oh man am I in full force Bytch mode and I think Crazy’s next,lol..

    whats your problem?? you on your rag or something? pms getting to you?? i asked not to be flamed. and here you go with the flames. not cool. totally not cool. you know something i dont about the ring tones then tell me how to do it. you can keep the nagging to yourself.

    *Yawns*why do men always retort to the ragging or pmsing tool?LOL..

    No you were bytching about the kick and yadda yadda yadda yadda..the browser,no videos…etc..So let’s move on from that and go forward..

    That’s not nagging,that’s telling you to do your research which is all over these blogs and check out what was said..What can and can’t be done,plus there’s an manual you can download and save to your documents,in that way you can look up anything you need to know..Yes it falls short on a few things but hopefully they’ll kink it out and notice it..

    I learned as much as I could on my own as a first time user of the kick and figured things out on my own. Except for 2 things own made themes(learned)and ringers(learned)Crazy and someone else taught and helped me…

    Speaking of Crazy,go to You Tube,type in Crazyforkicks,Crazy is from here did a video of the unboxing of the kick,now he did a video of how to make your own ringtones..Just watch and listen and you will be able to do your own.Just remember as he will tell you,up to 20 secs is how much you can use as a ringtone..

    Hope that helps you there with that..yes I was a bytch that day but nada to do with pmsing,lol..

  25. pLaTaNo p0w3r Says:

    weather? lmao, im the type that doest care bout how the weather is, so its useless to me, see out the window, sunny,raining, w/e it is, ppl with shrt sleeves = hot out, ppl with jackes/coats = cold out, good enough for me lol =) , anyways, how bout the twitter? how do you use that ****? lol

  26. rebecca Says:

    I’ve had my sidekick 2009 since may 11th, and I had to replace mine in a month…just mailed the old one back today actually. It shut down on me, the facebook app didn’t work, and it just slowed down a lot when scrolling. I just tried the facebook app and my profile still doesn’t load properly. Has anyone ever had this problem? What did you do to resolve this?? Thanks!

  27. Ewok83 Says:

    I really love the way it looks and feels, dont really enjoy the youtube with out wifi and i cant tell you how tired i am of these useless apps and the CARTOON looking os, i hope they have a upgrade soon that looks a lil more mature

  28. Leslie Says:

    I just got this phone, and I have to say, even though I do not live in a 3G supported area, this is the fastest phone I have ever had. There is NO lag time, even with the apps, and surfing the web is super easy and fun. The thing I learned after I got the phone, with really made me mad, was it’s not only impossible to add your own ringtones, it’s impossible ( for mine at least ) to even download songs to listen to. And it sucks you can’t put a pic as a background. Other than that, I’m super happy witht his phone.



Subscribe to our RSS feed or Twitter for up to the minute news, or subscribe to our daily email feed to get Hiptop3.com in your inbox!

Get Hiptop3.com in your email: